Please help me grade my Franklin Half Dollars

7 posts
I bought these as UNC coins.  I'm very new to this, but using photograde I was guessing MS61-63.

Thanks,
Ryan
Quote: SlackerATXI bought these as UNC coins.  I'm very new to this, but using photograde I was guessing MS61-63.

Thanks,
Ryan
I would say more like XF than uncirculated
I am agree with Tony, those coins are just XF.
Thanks for the reply!

Do you mind taking a look at the pcgs here?
http://www.pcgs.com/Photograde/#/Franklin/Grades

The XF coins linked there lack the luster and are quite worn.

The UNC MS-60-62 have quite a few dings and scratches on the PCGS website.

In general, are high content silver coins graded differently than others because silver is such a soft metal?  Is the main difference between AU and UNC the luster?  I ask because I've seen NGC graded UNC silver coins with more blemishes than AU coins.  The AU are quite a bit less shiny though.

Thanks again for your comments.

Ryan
Hi Ryan, in my personal opinion of pcgs and other US grading companies they have too many grades between vf+ and unc (60+) especially in today's modern manufacturing process and the output of the presses which is much more advanced and way faster than 100 years ago. I just got a sealed bagged of 2014 £1 coins today which are literally spewed into a bin causing all sorts of damage to the coin before it has even been handled or bagged by the the mint, but they are truly un-circulated. I also have many coins from the late seventies which are much better condition than modern coins. Another thing you must take into consideration is there are 3 types of production from most mints in modern coins.
1, Circulation coins produced for circulation (high speed process)
2, Brilliant Un-circulated coins produced for the middle collector (less expensive)
3. Proof coins produced only for collectors/investors (expensive)