Banknotes from the BES Islands

Banknotes › BES Islands

The special municipalities Saba, Sint-Eustatius and Bonaire (the BES Islands) carry many of the functions normally performed by Dutch municipalities. The executive power rests with the Governing Council headed by an Island Governor. The main democratic body is the island council. Dutch citizens of these three islands are entitled to vote in Dutch national elections and (as all Dutch nationals) in European elections. Officially the islands are classed in Dutch law as being public bodies and not municipalities. Unlike normal municipalities, they do not form part of a Dutch province and the powers normally exercised by provincial councils within municipalities are divided between the island governments themselves and the central government by means of the National Office for the Caribbean Netherlands. For this reason, they are called "special" municipalities. The currency used on the BES Islands is the US Dollar. Read more

See also: Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Netherlands West Indies

0 results found.

A banknote doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!