Coins from Bolivia

Bolivia is placed in middle of South America, and is one of the two countries that have no access to open sea, same as Paraguay, except Paraguay has agreements with Argentina and Uruguay to use Paraguay and Paraná rivers as their way to sea. It shares with Peru Titicaca lake, the world’s highest lake, and has 2 capital cities: Sucre as Judicial, and La Paz as political. On 1879, during the “Pacific War”, Bolivia lost to Chile the Litoral province and their access to open sea. This is the reason many Bolivian coins bear 11 stars, as they count the current 10 departments, plus the Litoral as owned by them. On 2017 a serie of 4 coins with face value 2 Bolivianos was issued, with themes related to their claims of rights to have access to sea. At Bolivia is mainly spoken Spanish, but with a strong presence of several aboriginal populations, like Guaraní, Aymará, Quechua and others, there are recognized 37 official languages. For this reason, in 2009, official name of country was changed to “Estado Plurinacional de Bolivia” (“Pluri-National State of Bolivia”), to recon native groups as nations. On colonial times, at Potosí was discovered the silver mines of the Cerro Rico, the biggest silver source of America, and possibly of the world. For this reason the main Spanish colonial minthouse was Potosi, with a huge production of coins, and bars to provide other American minthouses, and also to send to Spain. Political history of Bolivia has been very conflictive, being calmer from end of 20th century. Country has an active economic development, leading the Latin American countries on this area, from start of current century.
Wikidata: Q750

Display options300 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - type - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 - 200

Colonial Cob coinage (-1773)

¼ Real - Philip II

Silver (.931) • 0.8459 g
KM# A1, N# 61949
½ Real - Philip II

Silver (.931) • 1.72 g
MB# 1.1, N# 203415