Banknotes from the Republic of Congo

The Republic of the Congo, or Congo-Brazzaville is a country in Central Africa, bordering the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Angola and the Central African Republic. It was inhabited by the Kongo people until it was first explored by Pierre de Brazza in 1880, which led to French colonisation of the region in the Scramble for Africa. It was known as the Middle Congo, or French Congo to distinguish it from the neighbouring Lower Congo, or Belgian Congo. In 1908 it became part of French Equatorial Africa; in July 1940 becoming the first territory to join de Gaulle's Free France under Governor Félix Éboué. It became independent along with many other Francophone African countries in 1960, after which it became a communist state in 1969, and after a period of democracy, civil war broke out in 1997; as of 2018, there has not yet been a free and fair democratic election in the country, which has a population of about 5.1 million, and currently uses the Central African CFA Franc, but issues it's own commemorative coins.
Wikidata: Q971

See also: Central African States, Equatorial African states, French Equatorial Africa

Display options4 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100

Available for swap 500 Francs

Standard banknote
150 × 76 mm
P# 8
1,000 Francs

Standard banknote
P# 9

CFA franc (Bank of Central African States, 1973-date)

100 Centimes = 1 Franc

5,000 Francs

Standard banknote
P# 6
10,000 Francs

Standard banknote
P# 7

A banknote doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!