Get back to the old design

Coins from the Duchy of the Archipelago

"The Duchy of the Archipelago, or also Duchy of Naxos or Duchy of the Aegean, was a maritime state created by Venetian interests in the Cyclades archipelago in the Aegean Sea, in the aftermath of the Fourth Crusade (1204), centered on the islands of Naxos and Paros. It included all the Cyclades (except Mykonos and Tinos). In 1537 it became a tributary of the Ottoman Empire, and was annexed by the Ottomans in 1579; however, Christian rule survived in islands such as Siphnos (conquered by the Ottomans in 1617) and Tinos (conquered in 1715). The coinage consists of one basic type issued by two dukes in one denomination only, a billon denier, weighing substantially less than the tournois standard used in the mainland Greek states."
Wikidata: Q777981

Display options1 result found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100

Numista referee for coins of this issuer is Tomas530.

A coin doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!