Banknotes from Equatorial Guinea

Banknotes › Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea is a country in Central Africa with it's mainland between Cameroon and Gabon, and an insular part with the islands of Bioko and Annobón off the coast. It was known as the Spanish Guinea after 18th century colonial claims were formalised in the Scramble for Africa, in 1900. It gained it's independence in 1968, and shortly afterwards dictator Macías Nguema created a one-party state. His nephew Tedoro Obiang took over in a 1979 coup, and is still serving as Africa's longest reigning dictator as of 2018. Equatorial Guinea ranks very low on development indexes, and is one of the poorest and most corrupt countries in the world, with a population of about 1.2 million as of 2018. It uses the Central African CFA Franc today, the only non former French colony to do so. It issues its own commemorative coins, though. Read more

See also: Central African States (BEAC), Equatorial African states

Display options6 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100

1,000 Francos
Standard banknote
P# 21

Peseta (1969-1975)

100 Céntimos = 1 Peseta

100 Pesetas Guineanas
Standard banknote
P# 1

Ekwele (1975-1985)

100 Centimos = 1 Ekwele

25 Ekuele
Standard banknote
P# 4, P# 9
100 Bipkwele
Standard banknote
120 × 65 mm
P# 14
1000 Ekwele
Standard banknote
P# 8

CFA franc (Bank of Central African States, 1984-date)

100 Centimes = 1 Franc

500 Francos/Francs
Standard banknote
P# 20

A banknote doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!