Banknotes from British India

BanknotesIndia › India - British

The British Raj was the rule by the British Crown in the Indian subcontinent from 1858 to 1947. The rule is also called Crown rule or direct rule in India. The region under British control was commonly called British India or simply India in contemporaneous usage, and included are as directly administered by the United Kingdom, which were collectively called British India, and those ruled by indigenous rulers, but under British tutelage or paramountcy, and called the princely states. The whole was also informally called the Indian Empire (which consists of modern day India, Bangladesh and Pakistan). As India, it was a founding member of the League of Nations and a founding member of the United Nations in San Francisco in 1945. This system of governance was instituted on 28 June 1858, when, after the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the rule of the British East India Company was transferred to the Crown in the person of Queen Victoria (who, in 1876, was proclaimed Empress of India). It lasted until 1947, when it was partitioned into two sovereign dominion states: the Dominion of India (later the Present-day Republic of India) and the Dominion of Pakistan. Their coinage was divided in two separate entities – local coinage in each area and british rupees and annas. The last being minted under the authority of the Honourable British East India Company and after Queen Victoria took rule. Read more

See also: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, India - Portuguese, India - Princely states, Mughal Empire

Display options27 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100
Pages: 1 - 2 - 3

Pages: 1 - 2 - 3

A banknote doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!