Try the new Numista design!

Coins from Portuguese India

CoinsIndia › India - Portuguese

Portuguese India, also known as the State of India, existed from 1505, and consisted of Indian coastline colonies, as well as parts of Ceylon (Sri Lanka). Between gifting areas to Britain and losing areas to the Maratha Empire, the Portuguese colonies declined, but did so at a slow rate. After India gained its independence in 1947, the Indian government demanded Portugal to surrender their remaining colonies, but Portugal resisted. In 1961, the Indian military invaded Daman, Diu, and Goa, causing the Governor of Portuguese India to finally surrender.
Wikidata: Q323904 Read more

See also: India, India - British, India - Princely states, Mughal Empire

0 results found.

Numista referee for coins of this issuer is monge.

A coin doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!