Coins from Lorraine

Countries and territoriesFranceFrance - Feudal › Lorraine

Lorraine is a region located in eastern France, made up in the Middle Ages of many fiefdoms and small duchies, that had been mostly ruled/influenced by the French monarch from the mid 15th century onwards. In the 17th and 18th centuries it was annexed piece-by-piece by Louis XIV and Louis XV, formally annexing it into France by 1766. It mainly issued coinage in the Livre tournois currency of French Ancien Regime for most of its numismatic history. Following its incorporation into France, it became a department, partially lost to Germany in the 1870 Franco-Prussian War, but regained in 1918 after WWI. Today it remains part of the new administrative department of France named Grand Est. Read more

See also: France - Feudal, German states