Coins from Mongol States

The Mongol empire was founded by Genghis Khan in 1206. After having unified the Turkish-Mongol tribes, between the 13th and 14th centuries, the Empire expanded thanks to various conquests carried out throughout Eurasia. This facilitated cultural and commercial exchanges along the Silk Road between the West, the Middle East and the Far East. The Mongols remained faithful to the old shamanic and animist beliefs, but were still tolerant of other religions: Buddhism, Taoism, Islamism, Manichaeism, Judaism and Christianity. In 1259, the Empire was divided into four parts (Yuan dynasty, Ilkhanate, Chagatai Khanate and Golden Horde), each self-governing. After the disintegration of the western Khanates and the fall of the Yuan dynasty in China in 1368, the Empire ended. In 1370, the "Lord of war" Timur (Tamerlane), a Turkish-Mongol leader aspiring to rebuild the Empire, conquered a large part of central and western Asia, founding the Timurid Empire that lasted until 1506.

See also: Empire of China

Display options471 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - type - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 - 200

Mongol States › Chagatai, Khanate of • Dinar (1225-1680)

AV Dinar (1) - AR / BI / AE Dirham - AR Tanka - AE Fals - AE / BI Jital - AE Pul

Available for swap Dirham - temp. Qaidu Khan (Bukhara mint)

Silver • 1 g
A# 1984X, N# 312028
Dirham - temp. Duwa (tamgha countermark)

Silver • 1.92 g
A# 1986, N# 153663
Dinar - Changshi (Badakhshan)
737 (1337)

Silver • 7.69 g
A# 1997, N# 153659