Try the new Numista design!

Coins from Niger

Coins › Niger

Niger is a landlocked country in West Africa, bordering Libya, Chad, Nigeria, Benin, Mali, Burkina Faso, and Algeria. It was inhabited by Tuareg nomads until the late 19th century, when French colonisation in the Scramble for Africa laid claims to the region, which became part of French West Africa but however was not fully pacified until 1917-20. It remained under French colonial rule until it's independence with other Francophone African states in 1960, after which Hamani Diori established a one-party state until 1974. A series of other military juntas followed, until at last free and fair democratic elections were hosted in 2011. As of 2018, it is a poor country that ranks low on development indexes, and has a population of about 20.6 million. It uses the West African CFA Franc, but issues commemorative coins of its own.
Wikidata: Q1032 Read more

See also: Western African States, French West Africa

0 results found.

A coin doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!