Banknotes from New Zealand

New Zealand is a group of islands in the South Pacific with a population of 4.5 million. It consists of three main Islands and several smaller islands. The main islands are named North Island, South Island and Stewart Island in English, or in the native Maori language Te Ika-a-Maui, Te Waipounamu, and Rakiura respectively. The islands were first settled by the indigenous Maori people around the 13th century AD and wasn't discovered by Europeans until Dutch explorer Abel Tasman sighted the country in 1642. He named the country Nieuw Zeeland after his home province in Holland. The islands were then re-discovered in 1769 by English explorer James Cook, who extensively mapped the country and English settlement of New Zealand began shortly after. The country was officially formed in 1840 with the signing of the treaty of Waitangi, an agreement between the indigenous Maori people and the English settlers. In the early days New Zealand used English pound sterling coins as currency, and for a short period during the gold rush of the late 1800s, Traders tokens were tolerated by the government as currency due to a shortage of low value official currency. New Zealand began minting their own coins in 1933 and then in 1967 switched from pounds and pennies to the current system of dollars and cents.
Wikidata: Q664

See also: Tokelau, Cook Islands, Niue

Display options177 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - type - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 - 200

Pound (1840-1967)

12 Pence = 1 Shilling • 20 Shillings = 1 Pound

10 Shillings (Otago Banking Company)

Trial banknote
168 × 125 mm
P# S336
10 Shillings (Bank of New Zealand)

Standard banknote
161 × 112 mm
P# S215
10 Shillings (Bank of Australasia)

Standard banknote
179 × 89 mm
P# S131
10 Shillings (Bank of New South Wales)

Standard banknote
179 × 89 mm
P# S161
10 Shillings

Standard banknote
P# 154
Available for swap 10 Shillings

Standard banknote
140 × 78 mm
P# 158
1 Pound (Otago Banking Company)

Trial banknote
170 × 127 mm
P# S337
1 Pound (Colonial Bank of Issue)

Standard banknote
187 × 112 mm
P# S246
1 Pound (Bank of Otago Limited)

Standard banknote
198 × 120 mm
P# S241
1 Pound (Bank of Auckland)

Standard banknote
P# S104
1 Pound (Bank of Auckland)

Standard banknote
210 × 115 mm
P# S106
1 Pound (Bank of New Zealand)

Standard banknote
223 × 121 mm
P# S191