Get back to the old design

Banknotes from the British Palestine

Palestine was a British Mandate from 1917 to 1948. The name was first used for the geographical area of the Southern Levant in the year 135 AD by the Romans who renamed the province of Judaea the province of Syria Palaestina after their victory over the Bar Kokhba Revolt (132-135). The Romans changed the name to distance the Jewish relationship with the land to prevent any further revolts. The Romans made the name Palaestina from the Hebrew word “פלשיתם” (Plištim) which means "invaders" and was also the names given to the biblical Philistines who had all died out by then. With the termination of the British Mandate in 1948 the State of Israel was established in the territory that was Palestine. The remainder of that territory was occupied by the Jordanian and Egyptian armies. Israel demonetised the Palestine Pound on the 15th of September, 1948 while the Jordan government declared Palestine Pound no longer legal tender on the 30th of June, 1951 and Egypt declared it no longer legal tender in Gaza on the 9th of June, 1951.
Wikidata: Q193714

See also: Israel, Judea, Kingdom of Jerusalem

Display options4 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100

Pound (1927-1948)

1000 Mils = 1 Pound (1927-1948)

500 Mils

Standard banknote
P# 1
Available for swap 1 Palestine Pound

Standard banknote
165 × 89 mm
P# 2
5 Palestine Pounds

Standard banknote
192 × 101 mm
P# 8
10 Palestine Pounds

Standard banknote
192 × 101 mm
P# 4

Numista referee for banknotes of this issuer is aaronmgd.

A banknote doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!