Try the new Numista design!

Coins from the Principality of Achaea

CoinsCrusader and Christian states in the Eastern MediterraneanFrankish Greece › Principality of Achaea

"The Principality of Achaea or of the Morea was founded in 1205 and was one of the three vassal states of the Latin Empire of Constantinople. It became a vassal of the Kingdom of Thessalonica, along with the Duchy of Athens, until Thessalonica was captured by Theodore, the despot of Epirus, in 1224. After this, Achaea became the dominant power in Greece until its anexation by Charles of Naples in 1383. A period of turmoil follows, Achaea being conquered by the Byzantines in 1432 and finally by the Ottomans in 1460. The earliest coins were minted in Corinth. They were copper deniers and oboles of distinctly fine Frankish style, minted sometime during the 13th century. Most of the following issues were billon deniers tournois or fractions, until the rule of Robert of Taranto (1333-1364), who introduced the Genovese monetary system, with copies of gold florins and billon and silver soldinos. "
Wikidata: Q332005 Read more

See also: Latin Empire of Constantinople, Greece

0 results found.

Numista referee for coins of this issuer is Tomas530.

A coin doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!