Exonumia from the Czech Republic

The Czech Republic emerged from the dissolution of Czechoslovakia which took effect on 1 January 1993 together with the Slovak Republic. The currencies of both states were introduced as Czech Koruna and Slovak Koruna on 8 February 1993 with equal exchange rate 1:1 for former Czechoslovak Koruna. From 2 August two currencies were distinguished by stamps on banknotes before introduction of original banknotes later that year. First coins of The Czech Republic were also minted in 1993. There were 9 denominations minted for circulation from 1993, which were 10, 20 and 50 Heller (1/100 Koruna) and 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Koruna. Heller coins were withdrawn from circulation in 2003 (10 and 20 Heller coins) and in 2008 (50 Heller coin). In addition to circulation coins there are minted commemorative 200 Koruna and 500 Koruna silver coins, golden coins were minted in denominations of 1000, 2000, 2500, 5000 and 10000 Koruna and there are also a few irregular issues of bi-metalic silver and gold coins. First coin issues were minted by several foreign mints: Hamburg (Germany), Winnipeg (Canada), Wien (Austria), Llantrisant (United Kingdom) and Kremnica (Slovakia), soon replaced with Czech Mint in Jablonec nad Nisou minting coins until nowadays. In contrast to some other countries, there is only a few types of coins which are commemorative and in circulation. Until recently there were only 10 and 20 Koruna coins commemorating the millenium of 2000. In 2018 and 2019 six new commemorative 20 Koruna coins issued for circulation were introduced celebrating the centenary of Czechoslovakia and Czechoslovak Koruna respectively. However the coinage of these coins is so low that these coins cannot be seen in common circulation.
Wikidata: Q213

See also: Czechoslovakia, Bohemia and Moravia