Banknotes from Réunion

Réunion is an island located off the coast of Madagascar in the Indian Ocean. It was first settled in 1665 by the French East India Company, named the Île (de France et) Bourbon initially, until the last part of its name was changed by Napoléon to "Îles de France et Bonaparte". The old name was instated in 1816, by which point neighbouring Île Maurice (Mauritius) had been lost to the British, and it was renamed Réunion in 1848 after slavery there was abolished. The first coins minted for Réunion were copper-nickel 50 centimes and 1 franc issued in 1896. The island was under Vichy during WWII until 1942, when Free France took over there. Today it remains an overseas department of France, and uses the Euro.
Wikidata: Q17070

See also: Isles de France and Bonaparte, Mauritius, France

Display options4 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100

Third Republic (1870-1940)

5 Francs

Standard banknote
90 × 133 mm
P# 14

French Union (1946-1958)


Standard banknote
114 × 64 mm
P# 42a

Fifth Republic (1958-date)

Numista referee for banknotes of this issuer is Arendil, Eagle68.

A banknote doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!