Banknotes from the Saadi dynasty

Banknotes › Saadi dynasty

The Saadi dynasty or Saadian dynasty was an Arab Moroccan dynasty, which ruled Morocco from 1549 to 1659. From 1509 to 1549, they had ruled only in the south of Morocco. Although still recognizing the Wattasids as Sultans until 1528, Saadian's growing power led the Wattasids to attack them and, after an indecisive battle, to recognize their rule over southern Morocco through the Treaty of Tadla. Their reign over Morocco began with the reign of Sultan Mohammed ash-Sheikh in 1554, when he vanquished the last Wattasids at the Battle of Tadla. The Saadian rule ended in 1659 with the end of the reign of Sultan Ahmad el Abbas. Read more

See also: Morocco

0 results found.

A banknote doesn't exist in the catalog yet? Add it yourself!