Exonumia from Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe, officially known as the Republic of Zimbabwe, was previously part of, or known as, Southern Rhodesia (1923-1953), Rhodesia Nyasaland (1953-1963), Rhodesia (1965-1979) and Zimbabwe Rhodesia (1979-1980). It became an independent recognized country on 1 June 1980 under the rule of Robert Mugabe, President of Zimbabwe from 1987 until his resignation in 2017. The capital and largest city is Harare. The country has roughly 16 million people and has 16 official languages, with English, Shona, and Ndebele the most commonly used. The land surface area is 390,757 km² (150,872 square miles). Zimbabwe has the Dollar, with 100 Cents to the Dollar since the beginning. From 2006 to 2008 hyperinflation made the currency the most worthless in the history of money. During this time, Zimbabwe did not issue any coins, only banknotes, with the last 4 issued in 2008 being the highest denomination ever at 10, 20, 50 and 100 Trillion Dollars ($ worth about 15US$ at the time of issue) with an estimated inflation rate of 89,7x10^21 (89,700,000,000,000,000,000,000%). Currently the US Dollar, Euro, Pound and South Africa Rand are used as currencies. The name Zimbabwe comes from the ruins of the Great Zimbabwe Era at Matopos in the south.
Wikidata: Q954

See also: Southern Rhodesia, Rhodesia and Nyasaland, Rhodesia

Display options69 results found.
Order by: face value - ruling authority - type - date - reference
Results per page: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 - 200

Fantasy currency