Is this coin an error? [solved]

12 posts • viewed 178 times
I found this coin going though a lot that I bought and have never seen this before. The coin on the left appears to have been over squeezed in the die, is this possible? I'm fairly new at this. Thanks!

Interesting. Perhaps 2 planchets stuck together? Just a wild guess. Did you weigh it?

Edit: Or a die cap (planchet stuck to the die for multiple strikes) although the reverse looks too clean for that.
At first I thought it is a "dryer coin", the obverse could be a very nice example of that but I'm not sure the reverse fits in that theory: https://www.coincommunity.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=143863
Quote: "Essor Prof"​At first I thought it is a "dryer coin", the obverse could be a very nice example of that but I'm not sure the reverse fits in that theory: https://www.coincommunity.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=143863
​Hadn't thought of that. Problem though is the diameter would be reduced. This coin has a larger diameter than a normal penny.
Quote: "rsirian1"​​​Hadn't thought of that. Problem though is the diameter would be reduced. This coin has a larger diameter than a normal penny.
​You're completely right. Dryer coins have a smaller diameter. I've made a wrong assumption: I saw the L of Liberty was vanished, but not because the diameter shrunk but because it disappeared under that thick rim.
Weight is 3.514 g vs 3.043 for normal
Diameter is 19.8 mm vs 19.0
Thickness is 1.9 mm vs 1.4 mm

When you look at the reverse, you can see where the normal edge of the coin is formed, but it has extra material that appears to be coming from the front. Could the top die been worn and did not cut the material cleanly?

The "I" is formed cleanly, I can't see the "L" of Liberty to see if it was struck okay. That is about where the material starts to push up.
looks like foreign matter, like a thin ring. it looks like it could be pried off with a tiny screw driver.