So I'm doing a type set , however, I'm stumped on whether or not to open my proof and uncirculated sets [solved]

22 posts • viewed 232 times

» Quick access to the last post

So I'm doing a type set , however, I'm stumped on whether or not to open my proof and uncirculated sets to get all my types in one binder.
What would you guys do?
Me, I would never open them.
My collections >
http://mycoinssite.webs.com/apps/photos/album?albumid=13560800
also 13750057 also 15924495 also 15995337
http://mycoinssite.webs.com/apps/photos/album?albumid=16060326
I'm still learning a bit, but can you do a type set without proofs?
Quote: "Slipstreamed"​I'm still learning a bit, but can you do a type set without proofs?
​you can but proofs are separate types so you would be adding more types to the folder
I'm probably just going to put in empty flips with the coin information as a permanent place holder
Quote: "silvergeek"​I'm probably just going to put in empty flips with the coin information as a permanent place holder
​Thats exactly what I do. Many of my type sets consist of combination of coins but I never compromise a Proof or UNC in it's origional packaging to put in a flip.
Status changed to Solved (silvergeek, 11-May-2022, 04:24 am)
I always open sets. I collect coins, not packing material :O
They say "Pecunia non olet", but I know better...
Quote: "smvdbrink"​I always open sets. I collect coins, not packing material :O
​I guess that is the right approach...
...you can run,  but you can't hide...

Shame
I never open sets. What’s the point in buying them if you just rip them apart ???
sometimes a nice package improves the value of the set, other times not.
Jamais l'or n'a perdu la plus petite occasion de se montrer stupide. -Balzac
I only by sets when they are easier (and often even cheaper) to get then single coins. Plastic sheet sets are just to bulky so I take them out.