Sealing coins in self-adhesive flips in a humid environment

12 posts • viewed 207 times

» Quick access to the last post

Hello all, I'm starting to move my collection over to a more permanent storage option, and I've already got all the necessities: album with a case, pages, 2x2 self-adhesive flips, even some silica packs to put in the case for extra humidity protection.

Now, all of my coins are currently in a bag, waiting to be properly sealed in the flips.

What I'm afraid of, however, is trapping too much humidity with them. I've heard that the 30-35% range is the perfect one for coins, and my hygrometer right now shows a pretty steady rate of around 45% (edit: sometimes it can go even up to 55-60% on a bad day). With the expected rain, best case scenario is that I reach this ideal range in a few weeks – and since I'm a student counting pennies, a dehumidifier isn't an option right now.

Now, am I at all founded in my worry about the air humidity when sealing the coins? Or can I just start whenever I want without worrying about trapping too much of it with the coin?

Thanks!

Flips are not 100% water vapor proof so you won't trap too much water in them in a normal living environment where you live. Depending on the ambient concentration, temperature and pressure, vapor will slowly enter or leave. What's most important is a stable climate devoid of extreme temperature swings like on an attic or very high moisture levels like in the bathroom or a cellar with bad air citculation. 

You are talking in terms of relative humidity.  It's Important to control temperature as much as humidity. If you seal them in the cold, the cold air holds less moisture. In any environment where temperature changes, the relative humidity inside a sealed container changes. Mostly, you want the humidity to be low enough to prevent condensation at the lowest temperature you will experience in storage.