eBay Translation Table

29 posts

» Quick access to the last post

Following  my latest acquisition of coins via eBay, I was prompted to consider producing a glossary of eBay terms, with words and phrases one encounters in an eBay coin auction description, and what the seller really means such as:

"Collectible Condition" -> Scrap
"Uncirculated" -> Scratched and worn but kept in a draw for several years
"FDC"  -> Flipping Dodgy Coin
"FDC" -> Fake de Chine (ouch!)
"Genuine" -> Fake
"Silver" -> Not gold
"Rare" -> Common
"Scarce" -> Very Common
"I Know Nothing About Coins" -> I can't sell this crap to anyone who knows anything about coins
"See Pics and Judge Grading for Yourself" -> I'm an expert with Photoshop
"I Found This in my Grandfather's Loft" -> I'm a dealer and I have already pulled out anything of value
"Unsorted" -> I'm a dealer and I have already pulled out anything of value
"Mint Condition" -> Holed (think about it)

Perhaps you might add your own definitions?

Matt
"Bulk lot, guaranteed at least one silver coin" -> "I've got a pile of junk and I'll throw one silver dime on top to make it look worthwhile"
L@@K RARE SILVER COIN: I don't know anything about coins and it is made from cupronickel.
Haha that made my day :O . Unfortunately this hits the spot, but still it can be a great place to find good coins for a low price. It only needs a lot of patience, luck, some knowledge and a certain expertise.
If you like coins, medals and tokens with ship motives follow my new instagram account with regular updates @numisnautiker
From time to time I sell some coins on Ebay make sure to follow me @apuking on Ebay.
"Real gold!!!!!!" = plated
Quote: SummerUK"Real gold!!!!!!" = plated
Oh yes, I forgot that very popular one!
Quote: Matt_Probert"I Found This in my Grandfather's Loft" -> I'm a dealer and I have already pulled out anything of value
Always surprised how a lot which is supposed to be in grandpa's loft, to include late 90s french centimes and things :)