Need some help with a medieval European (Spanish maybe) coin [solved]

20 posts

» Quick access to the last post

I am no expert in the slightest, but it could be one of these ??

Couldn't find it here on Numista though....

Phil
Yep , it's the exact same one . Thanks!!!
You're welcome. Maybe just wait on a second opinion however, as I've noticed on the right hand side of the obverse on your coin are the letters CO, but on the coin in the link I sent, the letters are DVX. All other details do seem to match though.

Phil
Woah , did not notice that until now 8~ Interesting...
Could be from the county of Zeeland (the "CO" can stand for county and near it can be a "ZEL"?) Some of the counties might have had their specific coinage , and the "CO" might set them apart from the rest . This is just an assumption , I am not even close to an expert 8~
Yea different mintmarks. Not my area but I can see a tower(?) mintmark on yours and a cross on the link. Must be the reason for the difference.
On the phone now so I can't search but you should look for the meaning of the mintmarks of the Spanish Netherlands.
Yeaaaah , I kind of noticed something different there with the little tower on my coin and the cross on the other one , but I couldn't grasp it 8~ Those little details on this coin don't cease to amaze me , interesting little rascal
http://www.catawiki.com/catalog/coins/countries/spanish-netherlands/3559811-zeeland-statenoord-1550-1558

HA! Found something!!! Apparently they say that mint mark it's a hand 8. But even though that one it's very worn , it kind of resembles mine , it has the tower/hand etc (and my assumption for the county/statenoord of Zeeland it's kind of confirmed)

What do you think ?
You are correct. This is the Statenoord from Zeeland (1580 - 1587)

PHS. D:G. HISP. Z. REX. CO. ZEL (Philippus Dei gratia Hispaniarum z rex comes Zeelandia)
PACE. ET. IVSTITIA (peace and justice)

A lot of variants exist.