Coin weight tolerance: how much deviation is ok?

17 posts

» Quick access to the last post

Hello all,

I am very new to this hobby, but it has hit me hard! I love reading the numista forum and thank you all for sharing so much of your knowledge.

Here is my first question, but surely not the last, to this forum:

how much deviation from the listed weight of a coin would you allow before you become suspicious?

I am pretty sure that the type of coin and the condition (circulated vs incirculated, worn vs AU) has to be taken into consideration, but what would be a good rule of thumb? I've gotten a scale that measures to the hundredths +- 0.01, and usually measure my coins at least five times...

If this question has already been posted, please let me know!

John
Hi,

since I weigh the coins in my collection (I'm collecting by year and mint mark) I can show you that a variation of plus minus 5% is OK depending on the wear of the coin.....

Ole
Globetrotter
Coin varieties in French:
https://monnaiesetvarietes.numista.com
It depends on the coin. 5% on certain larger coins is not a good sign. 5% on smaller coins is acceptable. but it really does depend on metal type, coin size and wear. a Morgan dollar with a 5% variance is not a good sign unless there is very very heavy wear.
I sell my Duplicate or Un-Needed coins on eBay: https://www.ebay.com/str/coinsandmorenj.
It does really depend on the type of coin, a lot of the older coins the quality checking wasn't up the standards it does with modern coins, so a difference of 5% in a 200 year-old coin is far more tolerable than a 5% difference in a modern coin
As my man Neil says it depends on the coin and even where it's minted sometimes
OK, so let's narrow it down by stating a type and condition:

What would be the tolerance for the 1 oz Mexican silver libertads from 1982 to present, in bu condition? the weight is listed as 31.1 grams...