What made you decide to start collecting coins?

72 posts

» Quick access to the last post

How you started? I am waiting interesting stories.
Well, I got about 150 foreign coins from a charity box where me mum worked when I was about 10. I added a few now and again over the next decade. In a period in my early 20s I  accrued some older and valuable stuff (Scottish mainly) in the days when I was flush with cash.Then I did all the wild wild life stuff..including lengthy periods of ups and downs living in abroad in Europe and the US. I was forced to sell the valuable coins and I was down to basics again. Then..full circle.. the advent of sites like this rekindled my love of coins and I've been glowing with coin collecting energy again for the last 2 years. Coins are the only things I collect. Why not stamps or beermats or whatever..nope..just always been coins.
I think my interest for coins awoke at these boring days during visits at my grandparents home when i was a small boy.

My grandparents were the generation that could not cast away anything that once had some use or value. So they had cupboards full of old stuff, eg. cigar boxes with buttons, rusty nails and old coins from WWI and II times and even prior to that.
As my grandfather had to be a soldier during both world wars he also had a lot of small change from other European countries.

So i became interested in different cultures and lost empires by trying to find out the meaning and background of corroded and worn metal disks.

Later i found there had been coins even prior to the 19th certury.

:)
visit arminius-numismatics - my galery and database