Menu

Egypt 1 pound president Nasser (1970)

DavidB
Hello everyone,

I've got here an Egyptian 1 pound coin from 1970, with the effigy of president Nasser (so it's the commemorative coin).
The numista coin page (https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces20324.html) tells me it has a diameter of 40 mm and is struck in medal alignment.
Though, my coin has a diameter of only 38,65 and is struck in coin alignment! I add some pictures.

Does someone recognises that as a variety or something?

Thanks!
David
AmerSalmeh Numista team
This is interesting.

From a slabbed coin on ebay, I can see it's for sure in medal alignment
http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/302435302573?vectorid=229466&lgeo=1&item=302435302573&rmvSB=true

The coin isn't really rare, so I don't think it's a fake coin, but I'm no expert.

I will be happy to add this as a variety once I hear some other opinions hopefully. thanks
Catalog Master Referee & Referee for most Arab countries
https://www.instagram.com/amer.coins
Amer Salmeh
Essor Prof
Mine is medal alignment too.
Diameter: 40.14 mm
Weight: 25.05 gr.

That your coin is coin alignment doesn't bother me that much (there are more coins with another orientation than in the catalogue), but that the diameter of your coin is only 38.65 mm, that's suspicious or at least peculiar.
What's the weight of your coin?
DavidB
I don't have a scale that weighs accurately on tenths or hundreds of a gram. So I used a scale from the kitchen and that one says 18 gram. But it could be 20 or a little more too, probably.
I just checked this: if the normal coin weighs 25,2 gram (for 1269,235 as the surface because π * 20,1^2 = 1269,235), a coin with a diameter 38,65 should weigh 23,3 gram (the thickness of mine is also 2,2).
The explanation: π*19,33^2 = 1173,853. That 1173,853 is the x in 25,2/1269,235*x. The result is 23,3 gram.
I hope my calculations and my reasoning are correct. :)
Essor Prof
Hahaha David, I didn't check your calculation but I assume it's mathematically correct.