Menu

Looking for this German WWII coin [solved]

Kipsley
Hiyas. I've been looking for any information with regards the German Coin as pictured. I am new to collecting coins and have found a liking for the German WWII coins. Perhaps due to their history and perhaps also due to their "few years" in existence, making it very easy to collect them. But the one pictured alludes me. Any information would be awesome. All I can find out is that they were apparently used in non German countries where the German Army had taken over that country (and thereby supplanting their currency) during WWII. I could be wrong however. I would love to get one to add to my growing collection and to learn more about this coin.
Collector of Third Reich coins (1933 - 1946), and Australian coins.
Arnaugir
Maybe you're looking for this: https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces8571.html
Kipsley
My goodness. Yes! That is the very coin. Is it only available as a 10pf? And it would seem to have only been minted in 40 to 41. Hmmm. It is also given as being ultra rare. Seems I may have to save. Lol.
VieillePile Numista team, Moderator
Hi Kipsley,

5 and 10 pfennig has been minted by the Reichskreditkasse for the soldiers fielded in all countries.
Most of them have not been spend, because it was more efficient to use local coinage (Schacht's school, see below).
You can find the selling prices at Beutler's, but pay attention, these are far ahead of the market price but give a good impression of the market.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hjalmar_Schacht
http://www.beutler-muenzen.de/rubrik519.htm
Vieille Pile
Jesse11
5 Reichspfennig:
https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces6312.html

I think these are fairly scarce. I don't have any but I have a 1916 German military issue kopeck.
CassTaylor
These issues continue to allude me as well, at least those at prices acceptable to me. :(
Une Franglaise; ♪ je brosse ma chevelure ♫
Kipsley