Menu

New to collecting

emilym
Hello!

I am very new to coin collecting, I ended up stumbling across some George V shillings and found them really interesting. I'd like to start a collection but after browsing a bit I feel as though I'm jumping into the deep end, has anyone got any advice for a beginner, or what type/era of coin to focus on to begin with? Being quite young I haven't got much of a budget, so any advice for doing this on a small budget too would be great. I'm UK based if that makes much difference.

Thank you!
ZacUK Numista team, Moderator
Welcome to the site. :)
What sort of coins do you like? As you are in UK too I can send you some for free.
My collections >
http://mycoinssite.webs.com/apps/photos/album?albumid=13560800
also 13750057 also 15924495 also 15995337
http://mycoinssite.webs.com/apps/photos/album?albumid=16060326
emilym
That's very kind of you, but I'd feel bad, but thank you :) I quite like the pre decimalisation UK coins, but I also find Japanese coins really interesting, but there's so many more that I like the look of, too many to collect!
Numismatist uk
Good luck, pre-decimal is a very interesting topic.
I recommend pre-47 silver and pre 1920 coins.
Also try pre-decimal colony coins, eg. NZ, AUS OR SA
Coin collector and Silver stacker
'We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.'
Sir Winston Churchill
Myeackle
You could always try to buy a kg or two. Bulk lots usually have quite a bit of U.K. Mexico and Canada Coins. Its a easy way to get a lot of coins for cheap especially when your just beginning.

Matt
Numista referee for Burundi, Ghana, Malaya, Malaya and British Borneo, Mali, Marshall Islands, Nigeria, Central African Republic, Saar, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Somaliland
CassTaylor
Cheap UK pre-decimal coins was also how I started collecting a couple years ago. What I did was go around looking for one of each type, so I could get the green tick mark on as many British coins on Numista that I could.