Any tips for a young collector?

17 posts

» Quick access to the last post

Hi everyone!
I'm Nathaniel, I'm 15 and I've been collecting for a few years but I still have a very basic collection, and so I was wondering how you guys got into collecting (professionally), or how you came across some of your favorite and best coins?
I always see such cool and amazing coins selling on ebay and Trade Me (NZ version of ebay which I use) but obviously I can't afford it because I don't have a job and I should be saving up for things like uni or a house or something instead.
I'm really curious because one day when I have the money to do so I'd love to become a professional collector and get as many amazing coins as I possibly can.
Also, how much do you guys think you've spent on your collection in all the years you've been collecting?

Thanks so much, and have an amazing day!

Nathaniel
Nathaniel,
We all started at the bottom, and slowly worked our way up to where we are today.
My small bit of advice to you is to collect coins that are easy to obtain, and obviously cheap. You may have to make decisions about collecting only certain countries and collecting all of them by date. If, like me, you only want to collect by type, (no more than one of each catalogue number), then what you collect is a major decision.
I like your thoughts on the future, university etc, but I think just a small amount on coin collecting would not hurt. Perhaps a little weekend job? I did a paperround when I was 14. Now I am retired, I referee football games, and that is my little nest egg for coins.
Also, you could ask friends who travel the world to bring coins back. I still do that now. Best of all though, is Birthday and Christmas. I used to ask for a special coin, and that worked most times.
I wish you the very best of luck with your coin collecting and to a bright future, in whatever occupation you choose.
I'm just a collector of coins, not a slave to it, unless I am in a coin shop.