Best Canadian Auction Houses, or any Auction House

9 posts
I plan on consigning my rare 1858 Province of Canada One Cent coin with Upset Dies.

Totally new to coin collecting, although I have researched a lot in the past few months. However, I have no knowledge or experience with coin auction houses.

I would appreciate any comments or suggestions from Numista members who have used auction houses, and their experiences, good & bad.

Any recommendations?
Pick up a copy of Canadian Coin News. The June edition talks about the Torex Auction. It is hosted by The Canadian Numismatic Auction Company. Not sure how you get coins into the show as you might have to go through a registered dealer. Everyone will want a cut of the price. So I would recommend you go to a local dealer and see if they can do it for you. They may have a customer who is looking for such a coin and you could bypass the auction altogether. Know the value of the coin before making a deal and understand what you want to get for it.
I believe the other "big" Canadian auction house is Geoffrey Bell Auctions (www.gbellauctions.com).
It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble.  It's what you know for sure, that just ain't so.  Mark Twain
Quote: "ThePoet"​Pick up a copy of Canadian Coin News. The June edition talks about the Torex Auction. It is hosted by The Canadian Numismatic Auction Company. Not sure how you get coins into the show as you might have to go through a registered dealer. Everyone will want a cut of the price. So I would recommend you go to a local dealer and see if they can do it for you. They may have a customer who is looking for such a coin and you could bypass the auction altogether. Know the value of the coin before making a deal and understand what you want to get for it.