2€ - 10 years of the euro

2€ - 10 years of the euro

On January 1st, 2012, the euro zone will celebrate the 10th anniversary of the introduction of the euro. In 2002, Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain, i.e. a total of 12 countries, adopted the euro currency. In 2007 Slovenia, then Malta and Cyprus in 2008, followed by Slovakia in 2009 and Estonia in 2011, joined them. Today 17 countries are member of euro zone, which will issue a €2 commemorative coin together for this occasion.

As for the 10th anniversary of the establishment of the Economic and Monetary Union, a vote will determine the design of the coin. The winner gets a set of euro coins and his/her initials will be displayed on the coin. A participant chosen at random among the votes for the winning project will also receive a set of euro coins. Only citizens and residents of a country of the euro zone may vote.

Votes take place from June 6th to 24th on
Competition result on June 30th.

The 5 competing designs
Choose the design you prefer!


Post your comment

Author Message
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 2840
Can't wait that romania goes to euro. :love:
Joined: 26-Jun-2011
Posts: 1
I hope that the Euro will still be around in January 2012.
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 2840
Germany makes the euro to resist.
Joined: 28-Jan-2011
Posts: 89
Winning design for new 2012 2€ coin - ,

Post reply

Used time zone is UTC+1:00.
Current time is 08:00PM.